RSS

Restoring The Importance Of A Large Family

20 Aug

Palmetto Patriot has really outdone himself again.  In this video his friend Jon talks about the importance of large families.

I could not agree any stronger with the sentiments expressed by Jon in this video.  I feel that the size of family started to decline at the same time we faced a moral decline.  It became more about material possessions and an easy lifestyle than being fruitful and multiplying as our Lord commands.  I am lucky, I married a Southern, Catholic woman who feels just as passionately about this issue as I do. 

 We have six children and we had one miscarriage.  I have no doubt that child is in heaven waiting for us.  We have a significantly busier schedule than our friends, our finances are tighter, and I believe our marriage and life is more fulfilling than most.  We are raising our children in the traditions of the South.  We are teaching them real history and it has been exciting to witness them surpass the opportunities we had. 

It is sad how many people now-a-days decide not to have children or to only have one or two.  I could not imagine any one of my children not being here and I honestly want two more.  If we are going to stop the demographic decline of our people more Southerners are going to have to have larger families.  There is no way around it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2010 in Family, South

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Restoring The Importance Of A Large Family

  1. J. Stephen Conn

    August 20, 2010 at 5:12 PM

    As the third of twelve siblings I appreciated this post. When people asked my Dad if we were Catholic, he always replied “No, just passionate Protestant.”

     
    • Rebel Dad

      August 21, 2010 at 8:39 PM

      I am glad you like it. I am on your blog regularly. You do a lot of quality posts. I love your dad’s reply. That is hilarious. I am the oldest child of 15 boys and two sisters. My parents, also, were not Catholic.

       

Leave a Reply

 
