RSS

Lost Opportunities

20 Nov

I was sitting and watching a professor discuss the South and our culture when I heard my second grader ask “is he telling the truth?”  I said yes, that he was, and he replied back “that is interesting”.  He then sat through all three videos, listening intently, at the end of which he asked me several questions that he had about what he just heard. 

I have been thinking about that a lot today.  Both my wife and I are very active in teaching our children about history and the world, yet I had just assumed that these videos would be above his head.  I could not be more wrong, however. 

It turned into a great learning experience.  How many lost opportunities do us parents have when we underestimate our children or just assume something is beyond them?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 20, 2009 in heritage

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
