RSS

A Place To Belong

02 Jul

I need some advise and help.  I am a Tar Heel through and through, and my wife is a Texan.  Since we have been married we have been living in the north due to her job.  Well, the two of us can’t take it much longer.  We have to get back to Dixie. 

The problem we have is North Carolina does not even remotely resemble the state it was when I was a child and Texas is dealing with a flood of illegals and the increased crime that goes with it (thought we have not ruled Texas out if we can find a safe area).  I don’t want to move my kids back down South just to have them live in a wanna-be Yankee state. 

I want to live in a true Southron town where I can wear my beliefs on my sleeve and not worry about getting shot in the back.  I want to know that when my children go to school they are being taught by God fearing teachers and not Yankee conquerors indoctrinating them.

I want a community that is tight knit, where you don’t have to worry about liberals sticking their noses in your business.

The help I need is with suggestions; I would love suggestions on where we should look.  This is what we want in a hometown: 

1) A God fearing community with traditional Southron values,

2) low crime rates,

3) a safe community for children, that does not tolerate sex offenders,

 4) a population no larger than 40,000 (the smaller the better),

5) prefer a state and local community government that is as unintrusive as practical under the current system we are stuck with,

6) preferably no illegal immigration problem,

7) where Sir and Mam is common place,

8) good schools (preferably Catholic),

9) preferably the deep South, but would consider any Southern state,

10) I am strongly considering joining the League of the South or a similar organization and would be looking for a community with similar views.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  We have been searching like crazy, but having been out of Dixie for 11 years I have noticed a lot has changed.  I want this to be my last move ever because I don’t ever want to leave Dixie again.

 

10 responses to “A Place To Belong

  1. Kristen

    September 17, 2009 at 8:11 PM

    Tennessee is still a pretty conservative place in parts. The cities, especially Nashville are no longer southern, but the small towns are. We live south of Nashville and find it is quite southern. However, when you are looking down here, there are not a whole lot of Catholics. We contemplate moving back to Virginia, but that is so much more like a police state at this point compared to Tennessee. Feel free to e-mail me if you have specific questions. I’ll pray for your discernment if you pray for mine. ; )

    God bless,
    Kristen in TN

     
  2. Rebel Mom

    September 20, 2009 at 10:00 PM

    Kristen,

    Thank you for your kind comment. I know what you mean about some states becoming police states; parts of this Republic are becoming suffocating for Conservatives who just want freedom, liberty, and happiness.

    We have actually comptemplated the surrounding Tullahome, TN area. We would love an area away from big cities, we found ourselves drawn to (like you said) the small towns, mountains, and forests. If you know anything about that area we would be interested in knowing.

    Thanks for the prayers and you can be assured ours have gone up for you also.

     
  3. HaroldCrews

    September 27, 2009 at 4:49 PM

    Rebel Mom and Dad, I know what you mean about North Carolina. As a Tarheel living in South Carolina, it is sad to think what has happened in North Carolina. But I would like to invite you to South Carolina. But you must keep in mind that you might have a hard time living in a small town not near a larger city and finding Catholic schools. But I’d like to suggest South Carolina. It is definitely a conservative state.

     
  4. Rebel Dad

    September 27, 2009 at 9:10 PM

    Thank you. We have looked in western South Carolina, southern Tennessee, and northern Georgia and Alabama. I think we finally decided on a place yesterday, actually. We are even interested in a particular house. We have put a lot of prayer and thought into the move because we don’t ever want to move again.

    Quite by surprise, God has led us to a small town in northern Georgia. My wife will be able to transfer her employment to the area. There is a Catholic school not far away. I just can’t wait to get back down to Dixie; I hate it in the North. Once my kids started school here we knew we had to move back down South.

     
  5. HaroldCrews

    September 28, 2009 at 12:52 AM

    I know Ray McBerry will need some help in his run for Governor. He is in League leadeship in Georgia.

     
  6. Rebel Dad

    September 28, 2009 at 2:45 AM

    Thanks for the reminder. I have been following him for a few months, but haven’t posted anything yet. I wanted to let you know that I have been to your YouTube site before. You have a lot of good videos on there.

    Have you ever listened to Celtic Confederate? He is very talented. I love his song “He Becomes a Priest”. Though, I noticed he has a new photo on his profile that must be for women.

    http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=172776402

     
  7. HaroldCrews

    September 29, 2009 at 12:15 AM

    Thanks, I appreciate that. Glad the message is getting out even if only to a few people. I’ll be posting the SCLOS convention in about a month. When do you expect to be heading for Georgia? I hope to start making some of the League events in Georgia at some point. I’ll look Celtic Confederate up.

     
    • Rebel Dad

      September 28, 2009 at 8:14 PM

      I look forward to seeing the videos of the convention. I hate to admit this, but I never officially joined the Leage of the South. I have already downloaded the membership form for the GALOS and will be sending it in.

      It looks like it will be around June. With my wife’s new promotion we have to wait until May until she is eligible for transfer, but at least now we know we are headed back to Dixie. Maybe we can connect at one of the events.

      I am hoping that a lot of Southerners are waking up and finally getting involved. It seems like a pretty exciting time to be alive.

       
  8. HaroldCrews

    September 29, 2009 at 12:35 AM

    Man alive, that Celtic Confederate boy can sing and play. He could do a lot to spread the message.

     
    • Rebel Dad

      September 28, 2009 at 8:12 PM

      He sure can. Rarely a day goes by that I or my wife don’t listen to his songs. It really is a shame that he does not have a CD. Through his talent he really could spread the message far.

      I first heard him on Dixiebroadcasting, by the way; a real God send since we have been in the North.

       

Leave a Reply

 
