RSS

I Wish I Were In Dixie

03 Mar

800px-mount_mitchell-27527Life has been very busy so I apologize for not posting in over two months.  I have neglected my blog and I regret it.  I am going to make a great effort to post more regularly from now on. 

There has been something weighing on my very soul lately and I cannot barely stand it any more.  I actually find myself crying when I hear music about my beloved Dixie.  As you know, I am stuck in the North due to my job.  My heart literally aches to be back in the South. 

I cannot begin to describe the anguish I feel at being stuck here.  All I want is to go home, to be back in the sunny South, with people who believe the way I do, where your neighbor greets you with a smile, where people don’t take offense when you say sir or mam, and where military service is considered a patriotic duty and not a war crime.

Don’t get me wrong, not everyone is a liberal, but when even the Republicans are so moderate and so far and few in between it begins to feel pretty lonely.  The community we live in is so liberal the Republicans don’t reveal their Party when running for non-partisan, local office because it would cost them votes.  This is a huge factor in my homesickness.

There is a pulling on my heart that gets harder to live with each day.  I can remember the smell, the feel of the sun on my face, and the summers so hot swimming was the only relief.  I did not appreciate Dixie and all she had to offer, all she taught me, the person she made me until I left her for the cold North.  This is no place for a Christian, Conservative, Southron and I wish I knew that before I allowed myself to be stranded here.

My prayer each day is that God blesses me with the opportunity to go home again someday.  I know there are others who are in the same situation as we are and I know they would tell you the same thing.  It is like a slow, painful death being stuck in a place where you don’t belong.  Instead of living life you simple exist, life loses it’s purpose and meaning; all you have is your memories and your longing.  You have to fight to keep it within yourself because your spirit leaves you in your dreams of home.

If I can touch one person in a way that keeps them from making the mistake I have, or convince one person with the ability to leave and go back home then I can find comfort in that.  I know God will lead me back to Dixie when the time is right.  Until then I will dream of her because I do wish I were in Dixie.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2009 in South, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “I Wish I Were In Dixie

  1. Pat

    June 16, 2009 at 1:49 PM

    Where I am in the North there are alot of Southerners that feel this same way, but we have each other. Some are from Arkansas some from Missouri ect ect. My family are from Georgia, and I am a long way from home. Up here close to the Canadian border you do feel like you don’t belong here and you live for the day you can go home again. The North is pretty but there is no place like those mountains and the mist in the mornin’ with people who’ve known you your hole’ life. You can’t beat that one.

     
  2. Rebel Dad

    June 18, 2009 at 4:23 AM

    Pat,

    It has been really hard for me and my wife to get used to the North. I can’t wait to be back down South. You are, of course, right; the North is very beautiful. My problem is with the culture. I will never fit in here and I don’t want my kids adapting to the culture up here.

     

Leave a Reply

 
